NIH: Office of Disease Prevention

Menu

Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (PRCC)

The NIH Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (PRCC) serves as a venue for exchanging programmatic and scientific information of interest to the NIH, as well as for planning and implementation of collaborative activities. As a trans-NIH committee, the PRCC provides a broad perspective on the current state-of-the-science, and disseminates to NIH Institutes and Centers information about prevention-related activities sponsored by Federal and non-Federal organizations. The PRCC also serves as an advisory body to the Director of ODP and makes recommendations regarding scientific, programmatic, and policy issues. ODP coordinates the activities of the PRCC.

For additional information about the PRCC, please contact:

Rachel Ballard, M.D., M.P.H., Chair
Director, Prevention Research Coordination
Office of Disease Prevention
rachel.ballard@nih.gov
Ashley Vargas, Ph.D., M.P.H., Executive Secretary
Health Science Policy Analyst
Office of Disease Prevention
ashley.vargas@nih.gov

PRCC Members

NIH Partners

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Peter Greenwald, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Director of Prevention
greenwap@mail.nih.gov
Martina V. Taylor, M.T.
Senior Prevention Science Advisor
Division of Cancer Prevention
martina.taylor@mail.nih.gov
Susan M. Czajkowski, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Chief
Health Behaviors Research Branch
Behavioral Research Program
Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences
Susan.Czajkowski@nih.gov
National Eye Institute (NEI)
Thomas Hoglund
Science Writer
Office of Program Planning and Analysis
hoglundt@nei.nih.gov
Shefa Gordon, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Office of Program Planning and Analysis
shefa@nei.nih.gov
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
Josephine Boyington, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Program Director
Clinical Application and Prevention Branch
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
boyingtonje@mail.nih.gov
Lawton S. Cooper, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
cooperls@nhlbi.nih.gov
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
Jeffrey P. Struewing, M.D., M.S.
Program Director
Genotype-Tissue Expression Project (GTEx)
National Human Genome Research Institute
struewij@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Marcel E. Salive, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
marcel.salive@nih.gov
Lyndon Joseph, Ph.D.
Program Officer
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
josephlj@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Ralph Hingson, Sc.D., M.P.H.
Director
Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research
rhingson@mail.nih.gov
Mariela Shirley, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Health Science Administrator
shirleym@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Jane Lockmuller
Chief
Strategic Planning and Evaluation Branch
Office of Strategic Planning, Initiative Development, and Analysis
lockj@mail.nih.gov
Nancy Touchette, Ph.D.
Health Research Program and Policy Analyst
Office of Global Research
ntouchette@mail.nih.gov
Karl A. Western, M.D., D.T.P.H.
Senior International Scientific Advisor
Office of Global Research
kw18q@nih.gov
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Disease (NIAMS)
Joan A. McGowan, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
mcgowanj@ep.niams.nih.gov
Susana Serrate-Sztein, M.D.
Director
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
szteins@mail.nih.gov
Kristy M. Nicks, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Research Program Analyst
Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
kristy.nicks@nih.gov
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
Steven Krosnick, M.D.
Program Director
Extramural Science Programs
krosnics@mail.nih.gov
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Bruce Simons-Morton, Ed.D., M.P.H.
NICHD Associate Director for Prevention
Senior Investigator
Extramural Science Programs
mortonb@exchange.nih.gov
Tracy M. King, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Branch
tracy.king@nih.gov
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Judith Cooper, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
cooperj@nidcd.nih.gov
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
Margo R. Adesanya, D.D.S., M.P.H.
Chief, Science Policy & Planning Branch
Office of Science Policy and Analysis
margo.adesanya@nih.gov
Timothy Iafolla, D.M.D., M.P.H. (Alternate)
Public Health Analyst
Office of Science Policy and Analysis
iafollat@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease (NIDDK)
Robert Kuczmarski, Dr.P.H.
Director
Obesity Prevention and Treatment Program
Division of Digestive Diseases and Nutrition
kuczmarskr@extra.niddk.nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Belinda E. Sims, Ph.D.
Health Science Administrator
Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research
bsims@nida.nih.gov
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Kimberly Thigpen Tart, J.D., M.P.H.
Program Analyst
Office of Policy, Planning and Evaluation
thigpenk@niehs.nih.gov
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Jeremy Brown, M.D. (Alternate)
Director
Office of Emergency Care Research
jeremy.brown@nih.gov
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Amy Goldstein, Ph.D.
Program Chief
Child and Adolescent Treatment and Preventive Intervention Research Branch
Division of Services and Intervention Research
goldsteinam@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Joyce A. Hunter, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
hunterj@nih.gov
Nancy L. Jones, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Health Scientist Administrator
jonesna@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
Katie Jakubs Pahigiannis, Ph.D.
Health Science Policy Analyst
Office of Science Policy and Planning
jakubsk@mail.nih.gov
Paul Scott, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Director
Office of Science Policy and Planning
scottp@ninds.nih.gov
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Mary Roary, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Wellness Branch
Office of Extramural Programs
mary.roary@nih.gov
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Lisa Lang
Chief
National Information Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
langl@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Dana Casciotti, M.P.H., Ph.D. (Alternate)
Program Analyst
Office of Health Information and Programs Development
dana.casciotti@nih.gov
Patricia Gallagher, M.L.S., M.A., AHIP (Alternate)
Librarian
National Information Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
patricia.gallagher@nih.gov
Barbara Rapp, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Chief
Office of Science Planning and Analysis
rappb@mail.nih.gov
John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences (FIC)
Mark Miller, M.D.
Director
Division of International Epidemiology and Population Studies
millemar@mail.nih.gov
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Eve Reider, Ph.D.
Program Officer
Division of Extramural Research
ereider@mail.nih.gov
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)
Stephen Seidel
Supervisory Program Analyst
Office of Science Policy
SeidelS@mail.nih.gov
NIH Clinical Center (CC)
Ninet Sinaii, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Epidemiologist
Biostatistics & Clinical Epidemiology Service
Office of the Deputy Director for Clinical Care
sinaiin@mail.nih.gov
Office of AIDS Research (OAR)
Paul Gaist, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Health Scientist Administrator
gaistp@nih.gov
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)
Deborah Young-Hyman, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov
Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)
Barbara Sorkin, Ph.D.
Director
Botanical Research Centers Program
sorkinb@od.nih.gov
Paul Coates, Ph.D. (Alternate)
Director
Office of Dietary Supplements
coatesp@mail.nih.gov
Office of Disease Prevention (ODP)
David M. Murray, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Prevention
Director of the Office of Disease Prevention
david.murray2@nih.gov
Rachel Ballard, M.D., M.P.H.
Director
Prevention Research Coordination
Chair
Prevention Research Coordinating Committee
rachel.ballard@nih.gov
Office of Legislative Policy and Analysis (OLPA)
David Houppert, J.D.
Program Analyst
david.houppert@nih.gov
Anne Houser
Senior Legislative Analyst
housera@od1tm1.od.nih.gov
Patti Brandt-Hansberger (Alternate)
Senior Legislative Analyst
brandtp@od.nih.gov
Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)
Amy Mistretta, M.P.H.
Epidemiologist
amy.mistretta@nih.gov

Other Federal Partners

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Iris Mabry-Hernandez, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Program
Iris.Mabry-Hernandez@ahrq.hhs.gov
Tracy Wolff, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Program
Tracy.Wolff@ahrq.hhs.gov
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Shawna Mercer, M.Sc., Ph.D.
Director
The Guide to Community Preventive Services
Chief
The Community Guide Branch
Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services
Smercer@cdc.gov
Connie L. Bish, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Team Lead
Evaluation and Translation Team
Applied Research and Translation Branch
Division of Population Health
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
cbish@cdc.gov
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (OASH)
Mehran S. Massoudi, Ph.D., M.P.H.
CAPT, U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS)
Regional Health Administrator
Region VI (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)
Commander – USPHS Applied Public Health Team #4
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Department of Health and Human Services
Mehran.Massoudi@hhs.gov
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)
Emmeline Ochiai, M.P.H.
Senior Health Advisor
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
emmeline.ochiai@hhs.gov